Rally Tanzania
Carl 'Flash' Tundo navigated by Tim Jessop recorded 02:07:36hours to take lead in the African Rally Championship title race in Tanzania.

Kenyan five-time Safari Rally winner Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo navigated by Tim Jessop has been crowned the winner of the 2021 Rally of Tanzania, taking the lead in African Rally Championship title race.

Cruising on a VW Polo R5 sponsored by Minti Motorsport and Safaricom, Tundo took the lead in five stages clocking 02:07:36 hours to beat his closest rival Karan Patel (Ford Fiesta R5) and Ugandan Yasin Nasser (Subaru).

This was Tundo’s second win of the season in the R5 car after emerging winner of ARC Equator Rally in April and finishing in the top ten during last month’s World Rally Championship (WRC) Safari Rally that made a comeback in Kenya after nearly two decades.

Read also: Kenyan trio of FIA rally stars set for African Rally Championship

The Safaricom sponsored FIA Rally Star Program youngster Jeremy Wahome navigated by Victor Okundi, drew his experience from last month’s WRC Safari Rally to finish 5th, beating battle-scarred Issa Amwari who clocked 6th on the finish line.

This was Wahome’s rally event after completing in position 16 in WRC Safari Rally last month.

Another WRC/FIA Rally Star Program driver McRae Kimathi navigated by Shameer Yusuf in a Ford Fiesta R3 came 13th overall in a time of 02:35:27.

FIA Rally Star programme is a global initiative that seeks to identify, train, and develop talented young drivers between 17-26 years.

The programme in the East African region currently has three drivers including Hamza Anwar, Mc Rae Kimathi and Jeremy Wahome.

Leave a comment